NMSHP Board of Directors 2017-2018

 President: Briana Coyne, PharmD, BCPS - Albuquerque

Briana received her PharmD from the University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy and completed a pharmacy practice residency with Providence Health & Services in Washington. She moved back to New Mexico to join the Lovelace team as the pharmacy residency program coordinator and is now clinical pharmacy manager.  She developed and implemented the residency program and continuing education programs and is a mentor and preceptor for residents and students. Briana serves on a number of committees including Lovelace Health System P&T Committee, Formulary Management, Medication Safety Committee, and AMS. She is active in developing order sets, medication protocols, treatment guidelines, and policies and procedures to improve clinical pharmacy services.


President-Elect: Jason Koury, PharmD – Albuquerque

Jason Koury obtained his doctor of pharmacy degree in 2014 after receiving a Bachelor’s of Nursing degree in 2007, both obtained from the University of New Mexico. Currently, he is completing a second year fellowship in clinical trials at the VA Cooperative Studies Program located in Albuquerque. He also is a guest lecturer at UNM with a focus in teaching pharmacy law. As a student he has held positions in both SSHP and NMSHP and is excited to be involved again by holding the NMSHP treasurer position. His passion is improving healthcare for New Mexican’s and veterans across the country.
Treasurer: Christopher Gallegos, CPhT - Albuquerque

Christopher Gallegos began his pharmacy career in 1999 with Walgreens retail pharmacy.  He is certified as a Pharmacy Technician (CPhT), He also has an M.B.A., BS in business management, and is currently working on his Ph.D. in Health Care Administration.  After working as a pharmacy technician lead for four years, he received a promotion to the district office at Walgreens as a pharmacy project manager, where he took on many responsibilities from scheduling pharmacist, training, and opening new pharmacy locations across the State, which also included parts of Colorado and Texas.  In 2012, he started his career as a project manager with University of New Mexico Hospital (UNMH).  His project manager position for pharmacy administration has required him to use his project management experience to accelerate innovative platforms to meet the challenges facing today’s health care systems.  In December of 2016, he was promoted to Manager of Business Operations for pharmacy administration, where he is in charge of various responsibilities centric to the operations of the department and institution.

Secretary: Marie Cabrera, PharmD - Albuquerque

Marie graduated from the University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy in 2014.  At UNM she was a member and officer in Rho Chi and Phi Delta Chi and an APhA‐ASP Operation Diabetes co‐chair.  After graduation she completed a PGY1 residency at Memorial Hospital‐University of Colorado Health in Colorado Springs, CO. Marie has returned to NM to work at UNM Sandoval Regional Medical Center where, with the director, she will be building the pharmacist role in the outpatient clinic with the eventual goal to help manage diabetes, asthma, COPD, heart failure and other chronic disease states.

 Central Region Representative: Richard D'Angio, PharmD - Albuquerque

Richard D'Angio, Pharm D, BCPS received his BS in Pharmacy and Pharm D from University of Arizona.  He completed a general hospital pharmacy at National Institutes Health and a fellowship in Critical Care at Hartford Hospital. 

Since 2008, he has been the Clinical Director at the University of New Mexico Hospitals. Dr. D’Angio has had the opportunity to be involved with the numerous state and national organizations.   

Northeast Region Representative: OPEN

Northwest Region Representative: Fiona Chao, PharmD, BCPS - Shiprock

Fiona Chao is a clinical pharmacist at Northern Navajo Medical Center (NNMC) in Shiprock, NM. She graduated from the Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey and went on to complete a PGY1 residency at NNMC. In addition to being a residency and student preceptor, she is the Student Program Coordinator for NNMC Pharmacy and collaborates with over 13 pharmacy schools to host more than 25 students each school year for their advanced pharmacy practice experience. Fiona will be stepping into a new role at NNMC as the Pharmacy Clinical Applications Coordinator as well as the secretary of the Medications Error Committee.

Southeast Region Representative: Monica Owensby, RPh - Lovington

Monica Owensby is currently the Pharmacy Director at Nor-Lea General Hospital in Lovington, NM. Originally from Hobbs, NM, Monica graduated from the University of New Mexico in 1998. Monica is a seasoned health-systems pharmacist, practicing in hospital pharmacy for the last 16 years, 15 of which were at Lea Regional Medical Center in Hobbs, NM.

Southwest Region Representative: Adlina Chiang, RPh, MBA, MPH, BS-ICT - Las Cruces

Adlina Chiang, RPh, MBA, MPH, BS-ICT is the Infomatics Pharmacy Specialist at Memorial Medical Center in Las Cruces. Adlina enjoys of role of  incorporating advanced technologies to Pharmacy practice and utilizing technologies to improve patient safety and outcomes. Besides her 15+ years in hospital pharmacy, Adlina also has experiences in ambulatory care, anticoagulation clinic, long-term care, nursing home and assisted living consulting, school-based health center, and outpatient. 

Student Representative: Open

Technician Representative: Open





     © New Mexico Society of Health-System Pharmacists
PO Box 40502 ABQ, NM 87196
Phone: (505) 318-0223 or (505) 318-0124
Email: nmshpexecutivedirector@outlook.com 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software