NMSHP
New Mexico Society of 
Health-System Pharmacists
Log in
2020 Legislative Update

The 2020 New Mexico Legislative Session kicked off on January 21st. A very important bill has been re-introduced this year: HB 42 “Pharmaceutical Services Reimbursement Parity”. HB 42 would allow Pharmacist Clinicians and other pharmacists with prescriptive authority (e.g. for tobacco cessation, contraception, etc.) to be reimbursed for the clinical services they provide at a rate comparable to physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners.

Check HB 42 Bill status

1/22/2020 - Governor Lujan Grisham issues house executive message 15 adding HB 42 to the legislative agenda.

1/27/2020 - HB 42 received a “Do Pass” from the House Health and Human Services Committee on Monday, January 27th on a vote of 5 to 2.

2/3/2020 - HB 42 received a "Do Pass" from the House State Government , Elections & Indian Affairs Committee on a vote of 4 to 1.

2/8/2020 - HB 42 passed with amendments with a vote of 40 to 21 (amended house bill). 

2/13/2020 HB 42 pass the Senate Public Affairs Committee unanimously.

HB 42 will likely be reviewed by the Senate Finance Committee

Our legislators need to hear from each of us, as well as our colleagues, interprofessional teams and patients! Please join our advocacy efforts by taking the following simple steps.

1. Find your house and senate representatives (Find YOUR Legislator). Especially if your senator is on the Senate Finance Committee

Senate Finance Committee Members:

Name

District

Office Number

Email

John Arthur Smith

35

(505) 986-4365

john.smith@nmlegis.gov

George K. Munoz

4

(505) 986-4371

senatormunoz@gmail.com

Steven P. Neville

2

(505) 986-4701

steven.neville@nmlegis.gov

William F. Burt

33

(505) 986-4366

bill.burt@nmlegis.gov

Pete Campos

8

(505) 986-4311

pete.campos@nmlegis.gov

Jacob R. Candelaria

26

(505) 986-4380

jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov

Roberto “Bobby” J. Gonzales

6

(505) 986-4362

roberto.gonzales@nmlegis.gov

Gay G. Kernan

42

(505) 986-4274

gay.kernan@nmlegis.gov

Nancy Rodriguez

24

(505) 986-4264

nancy.rodriguez@nmlegis.gov

Sander Rue

23

(505) 986-4375

sander.rue@nmlegis.gov

John M. Sapien

9

(505) 986-4301

john.sapien@nmlegis.gov

James P. White

19

(505) 986-4395

james.white@nmlegis.gov


2. Please call your senator (sample calling script).

3.  Ask at least 3 people to make a call as well.

4. ASHP has created an Action Alert for us. Click on the following link, then log in or register using your email address and zip code. Your senator’s name will populate, along with a grassroots message. You can personalize this message if you want, or you can just click send. It is super easy! https://ashsp.ac360.aristotleactioncenter.com/#/alertId/45ee8b83-a0b4-43ac-9f5c-5ce9a9d0df70/

Stay tuned for updates! 

Resources:

Become a member today

The Benefits of Membership

NMSHP can provide leadership, education, and services; but there is a greater influence in numbers. The Society needs your ideas and energy for the growth and development of our profession. Together we will advance our professional practice. Together we can make things happen.



  • upcoming Events



Member management



JOIN US NOW


© New Mexico Society of Health-System Pharmacists


PO Box 40502

Albuquerque, NM 87196

Phone: (505) 318-0223

or (505) 318-0124

Email: nmshpexecutivedirector@outlook.com 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software